Fran Evans - Senior Player + Coach

Let's have some fun

What is your Dream meal comprising a starter, a main and a dessert?

​I don’t have a dream meal, I’ll eat anything you put in front of me

Favourite type of music?

​ Rock/metal/the screamy stuff

Quick fire questions
Which one is your favourite?

Tea       or  ✓ Coffee

Sweet ✓  or   Savoury

Coke    or   ✓Diet Coke

Summer or ✓Winter

This is for the committee/ volunteers...

What makes you want to help the club out? And what do you enjoy most about being at the club?

One person can’t do everything, so it’s nice to have a group of people contributing instead. Different people and different opinions means the club can go in appropriate directions and cater for everyone and everything. It’s got a family vibe to it. People make the effort to come to the sessions despite their jam packed lives because we all love seeing each other

Are you part of another sport or volunteer anywhere else?

Not currently

 

What is your goal for your role and Cheshire Phoenix?

Well as Covid-19 officer my main goal is to make sure that people don’t get any covid anytime soon, that wouldn’t be a job done well lol!! But on a serious note, to ensure the safety of the club’s members during this scary time the world is in and make sure that people understand and know they are not alone, the big rona has affected us all in one way or another

Age: 

​21

Classification: 

​5

Do you train with another team?

​Not playing this coming season but associated with Cheshire Phoenix, Angels, Caernarfon Celts and West Coast Warriors

What is your role at the club?

​I am a senior player, Coach and Committee Member as the Covid Officer 

Why do you like wheelchair basketball? And why did you start playing the sport?

​ It’s different, it’s not something you hear about everyday outside of the world of disability sport. It’s one of the few sports where I feel like I can excel and that I don’t lag behind.

Why did you decide to join Cheshire Phoenix Wheelchair basketball club?

​I have trained with every club across Wales nearly and several in England, and I can honestly say it’s one among very few clubs where I feel comfortable to have fun and push myself at the same time. I’m relaxed and don’t have to be on edge around anyone.

Do you have a favourite wheelchair basketball player? If so, who and why?

​Anna Jackson - because she’s Anna Jackson, needs no explanation behind it if you know her!

Do you have a future goal for the sport such as going Elite, becoming a coach etc...?

​Stepping back as a player and taking a more active role as a coach and table official. I want to learn more from the UK’s elite coaches; Anna Jackson and Lee Coulson, who are amongst the very few level 3 coaches in the UK.

 

What hobbies do you have?

I try my best at yoga despite it not being the most glamorous thing I do and I like practicing mindfulness and Buddhist practices to relieve my overthinking

Do you go to college or university and if so, what do you or did you study?

Just graduated Cardiff Metropolitan University with a 2:1 in BSc (Hons) Psychology

​ Do you have any cool qualifications in anything?

I completed an Understanding Autism course through the Open University because I will never understand what it’s like to have autism but I want to educate myself in any way I can on it

Tell me one fact about yourself

I have a cat named Spooky who has sat with me through 10 years of education so is probably smarter than me now

BELIEVE%20IT%20B%2BW%20Logo-01_edited.jp
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2020 by Cheshire Phoenix WBC. Proudly created with Wix.com