James Sellers - Senior Player

Let's have some fun

What is your Dream meal comprising a starter, a main and a dessert?

​Prawn cocktail (tiger prawns not the silly tiny ones) T-bone steak, chips, onions fried in butter, mushrooms not really got a favourite (depends what’s available on the day)

Favourite type of music?

​It’s mood dependent 

If you were going to name your basketball, what would you call it and why?

Swish or pop, because when it finds it way home that's the noise it will do going through the hoop, when it keeps bouncing out I wanna pop it

Quick fire questions
Which one is your favourite?

Tea       or   Coffee

Sweet   or   Savoury

Coke    or    Diet Coke

Summer or ✓Winter

Age: 

​41

Classification: 

​4

Disability: 

Physical

Do you train with another team?

​Yes, Caernarfon Celts

What is your role at the club?

​I am a senior player

Why do you like wheelchair basketball? And why did you start playing the sport?

​I was told at the age of 18 I would never walk again let alone play a team sport again due to the severity of my injuries and the strong possibility of making them worse, I joined wheelchair basketball primarily for my son however over the weeks/ months that followed I found out I could not only play but was also classifiable, I started playing and fell in love with the game but after 20 years of not playing a team sport wheelchair basketball has given me a chance to not only play but has given me another lease of life

Why did you decide to join Cheshire Phoenix Wheelchair basketball club?

​It was primarily for my son to gain further experience and knowledge of the game, however the club made me feel welcome and over time I was offered an opportunity to play on Cheshire phoenix team, I will always push my limits and to do that I need to play against more experienced players and Phoenix offers a range of experience and knowledge.

Do you have a future goal for the sport such as going Elite, becoming a coach etc...?

​I do not know if my age will go against me playing at a high level but I would love to go Elite but for now I am trialling for the Wales men’s 3x3 team for the commonwealth games 2022 in my other Club Caernarfon celts I was ready to undertake my Level 1 coach training until the course was cancelled due to COVID.

 

What hobbies do you have?

​I love gardening and fishing

 

Do you go to college or university and if so, what do you or did you study?

I went to college - countryside and forestry 2yr course, national diploma however before I could take my final tests, I had an operation and was advised by the specialist if I continued to follow this path, I would need an artificial knee by the time I was 28

 

​Do you have any cool qualifications in anything?

HGV class 2 licence 

Tell me one fact about yourself

I find it hard to open up and lack confidence in crowd situations

BELIEVE%20IT%20B%2BW%20Logo-01_edited.jp
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2020 by Cheshire Phoenix WBC. Proudly created with Wix.com